Renegades of the Internet come discuss your favourite games, voice acting, technicalities and other topics on our forum.
 
HomeCalendarFAQRegisterLog in
Log in
Username:
Password:
Log in automatically: 
:: I forgot my password
Latest topics
» Age of Decadence
by Carabas Wed Jul 26, 2017 7:07 pm

» Crusaders Kings 2
by Carabas Mon Jul 24, 2017 9:37 pm

» Far Cry 3
by Carabas Tue Jun 06, 2017 1:39 pm

» Shiness: The Lightning Kingdom
by Carabas Wed Apr 19, 2017 5:56 pm

» Rise of the Argonauts
by Carabas Fri Apr 14, 2017 6:37 pm

» The Fall of the Dungeon Guardians
by Carabas Fri Apr 14, 2017 8:53 am

» Carmageddon Max Damage
by Carabas Fri Apr 07, 2017 10:35 am

» Dex (Cyberpunk RPG)
by Carabas Wed Apr 05, 2017 7:54 am

» Tyranny [no spoilers]
by Carabas Tue Apr 04, 2017 3:41 pm

» Mass Effect Andromeda
by Carabas Fri Mar 31, 2017 7:48 am

» Fallout 4 Mods
by Carabas Sat Mar 18, 2017 8:11 am

» DAO and DA2
by Carabas Sun Mar 05, 2017 8:38 am

Who is online?
In total there is 1 user online :: 0 Registered, 0 Hidden and 1 Guest

None

Most users ever online was 39 on Wed Jul 09, 2014 8:37 pm
Statistics
We have 42 registered users
The newest registered user is hellsheep

Our users have posted a total of 25111 messages in 638 subjects
Search
 
 

Display results as :
 
Rechercher Advanced Search

Share | 
 

 SoftBank Samsung 707SC review!

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
BlackZarak
The Architect
avatar


PostSubject: SoftBank Samsung 707SC review!   Sun Oct 09, 2011 6:50 am

It is with great pleasure that I get to review the crown jewel of my collection and my most prized phone. This is NOT Shanzhai garbage, this is a TRUE Japanese phone.

SoftBank is a provider in Japan, along with KDDI and DoCoMo, amongst others. Keitai phones such as my 707SC are tailor-made for a specific provider.

Keitai phones can be used on different networks (exception to this rule are KDDI phones, they use a TOTALLY DIFFERENT network architecture, their own version of HSPA called FOMA). My 707SC, for example, supports GSM 900/1800/1900, so it is compatible in North America. It also has HSPA, but only 2100MHz, which is the frequency Japan/Europe uses for their 3G.

Using a Keitai on a different network of course requires removing the SIM lock. SoftBank phones also must be Multimedia-unlocked to use the camera, multimedia player and so on. Some models will require an HyperSIM to work. My 707SC did not require the HyperSIM, as a matter of fact the phone couldn't latch on to the network with the HyperSIM present. I removed it, put the SIM back in, and poof, instant network connection.

Formfactor: Clamshell. The 707SC is even thinner than my piece of shit RAZR V3, but a little taller.

Screen: 240*320, 262,144 (or 18-bit) colors. The screen is clear and crisp, and readability in the sun is not an issue. There is also a small OLED display that shows time, signal strength, and battery.

Signal: Like I said, the 707SC supports GSM 1900 in North America. The phone performed superbly on the Rogers network, and apart from known network deadzones, the 707SC latched on the network and didn't let go.

Sound/call quality: Again, I am amazed at just how superior European and Japanese GSM phones are. The 707SC sounds clear and crisp and is immune to the background buzz that I can clearly hear with older phones. Call volume was loud aplenty, and I had no problems hearing or being heard.

Battery life: Roughly a week, the 707SC is NOT a smartphone and therephone is not a battery hog unlike my CrackBerry which must be charged every two days tops.

Camera: 2MP, and the lens is rotative. You can easily switch to self-shots to regular shots just by rotating the lens. Pictures are very good, but the lack of flash makes night shots a little tougher.

Memory: The phone has 130MB of internal memory but no microSD card. No big deal, my CrackBerry does the job as a music player just fine.

The bottom line: The 707SC looks different than anything else out there, and it is a solid phone to boot. The lack of a full keyboard is a slight annoyance, but I have a feeling my use of SMS will wither and die.

Final score: 10/10. The wave of Android, iShit, WinBlows and all those uber-blinged out will turn their noses at the 707SC, but they don't know jackshit on just how much better my Keitai is. I freaking love this phone, and I have no problem kissing my BlackBerry adios. I am getting tired of having to run to the nearest window to hold the damn signal and not have my call drop.

Again, I freaking love this phone. This is the crown jewel of my collection because of it's different looks and rarity. This phone stands out from the rest, and I like it that way.

_________________
SKELETONS RIDING OSTRICHES
Back to top Go down
 
SoftBank Samsung 707SC review!
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Belle Sakura Saloon :: Arcanum :: Where you can find help with the magic of modern technology.-
Jump to: