Renegades of the Internet come discuss your favourite games, voice acting, technicalities and other topics on our forum.
 
HomeCalendarFAQRegisterLog in
Log in
Username:
Password:
Log in automatically: 
:: I forgot my password
Latest topics
» Crusaders Kings 2
by Carabas Sun Jul 16, 2017 2:22 pm

» Far Cry 3
by Carabas Tue Jun 06, 2017 1:39 pm

» Shiness: The Lightning Kingdom
by Carabas Wed Apr 19, 2017 5:56 pm

» Rise of the Argonauts
by Carabas Fri Apr 14, 2017 6:37 pm

» The Fall of the Dungeon Guardians
by Carabas Fri Apr 14, 2017 8:53 am

» Carmageddon Max Damage
by Carabas Fri Apr 07, 2017 10:35 am

» Dex (Cyberpunk RPG)
by Carabas Wed Apr 05, 2017 7:54 am

» Tyranny [no spoilers]
by Carabas Tue Apr 04, 2017 3:41 pm

» Mass Effect Andromeda
by Carabas Fri Mar 31, 2017 7:48 am

» Fallout 4 Mods
by Carabas Sat Mar 18, 2017 8:11 am

» DAO and DA2
by Carabas Sun Mar 05, 2017 8:38 am

» Fallout New Vegas Mods
by BlackZarak Wed Mar 01, 2017 5:54 am

Who is online?
In total there is 1 user online :: 0 Registered, 0 Hidden and 1 Guest

None

Most users ever online was 39 on Wed Jul 09, 2014 8:37 pm
Statistics
We have 42 registered users
The newest registered user is hellsheep

Our users have posted a total of 25081 messages in 636 subjects
Search
 
 

Display results as :
 
Rechercher Advanced Search

Share | 
 

 Mitsubishi M430i review

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
BlackZarak
The Architect
avatar


PostSubject: Mitsubishi M430i review   Sun Jan 08, 2012 7:21 am

2011 was a year in which my phone collection grew, adding rare gem after rare gem. First was the Alcatel OT-710D, the Neonode N2, the SoftBank 707SC, and last but not least, the Mitsubushi M420i!

Let me put things in perspective -- the last Mitsubishi phone we got in Canuckland goes back to 2001. Fido, the first GSM provider in Canuckland, got an exclusivity deal and released I believe three models.

This is not my first Mitsubishi phone. My first one was a G310:

http://www.pscp.info/phones/phone.php?p=135&gi=1

It was a drizzling pile of shit. Granted, the FIDO network had flaws, but this phone was downright terrible. It dropped a lot of calls, had no vibrate mode, and voice quality was blah.

So what was I thinking purchasing another Mitsubishi if the first one was terrible? Yeah, it was taking a chance. Does the m430i redeems the Mitsubishi brand, or does it suck as bad as it's predecessor?

It does not suck. Far from it!

The M430i is a tri-band GSM phone, 900/1800/1900MHz to be precise. Only 1900MHz is supported for North America, making the phone a single-band, while in Europe it is a dual-band. I do not have a lot of single-band phones, but my SoftBank 707SC fits the bill, so I will bench the M430i against the 707SC.

The M430i has some pretty damn good signal for a single-band. I have yet to see the phone lose the network, it was even able to make and hold a call in the backstore at work, something I cannot do with the 707SC. Speaking of calls, they sounded pretty good, but there was a very slight hint of distortion when the earpiece volume is set to maximum.

Physically, the phone is tall. The top section houses the camera module, and it adds a LOT of height to the phone. The phone is also a bit on the thick side, but the M430i was released in 2004, so I look past the age of the phone.

The external screen is fairly big, which is nice. Easy to read, down to basic, signal, battery, time, your wallpaper, and that's it. The internal screen is 240*320, which at the time was HUGE! It is a TFT LCD, and looks very damn good, hell it's not only huge, it is 262,164 colors, or 18-bit when the rest of the world was with 12 (4096) and 16-bit (65535) displays.

The camera is a bit on the quirky side. It points directly at me when the phone is open. When it is closed, slide the back cover open to reveal the lens. The external screen becomes the viewfinder. There is also a flash. The camera is 1.3MP, again, for the time, this was great.

The keypad is great, I can easily tell the keys apart, and extra points for the SWEET blue backlight!!

The menu is different and takes some time getting used to, but it's no-nonsense and works well, WAY better than the G310.

Bottom line? The M430i is another exotic addition to my collection, and one that works superbly, too.

_________________
Skeletons riding ostriches
Back to top Go down
 
Mitsubishi M430i review
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Belle Sakura Saloon :: Arcanum :: Where you can find help with the magic of modern technology.-
Jump to: