Renegades of the Internet come discuss your favourite games, voice acting, technicalities and other topics on our forum.
 
HomeCalendarFAQRegisterLog in
Log in
Username:
Password:
Log in automatically: 
:: I forgot my password
Latest topics
» Titan Quest Immortal Throne
by Carabas Yesterday at 8:48 pm

» Crusaders Kings 2
by Carabas Fri Nov 17, 2017 9:18 am

» Divinity: Original Sin 2
by Carabas Thu Nov 16, 2017 9:08 pm

» Assassin's Creed Origins
by Carabas Thu Nov 09, 2017 8:14 pm

» ChinaDroid review - VKWorld Mix Plus
by BlackZarak Thu Oct 19, 2017 5:40 am

» Why the original Fallout is still my favourite game 13 years later
by Carabas Sun Oct 01, 2017 1:59 pm

» Fallout 4 Mods
by Carabas Mon Sep 18, 2017 8:20 am

» Fallout: New California/Project Brazil
by Carabas Fri Sep 08, 2017 5:43 am

» XCOM 2 First Impressions
by Carabas Fri Sep 01, 2017 8:25 pm

» Mods for Skyrim
by BlackZarak Sun Aug 06, 2017 6:27 am

» Age of Decadence
by Carabas Wed Jul 26, 2017 7:07 pm

» Far Cry 3
by Carabas Tue Jun 06, 2017 1:39 pm

Who is online?
In total there is 1 user online :: 0 Registered, 0 Hidden and 1 Guest

None

Most users ever online was 39 on Wed Jul 09, 2014 8:37 pm
Statistics
We have 42 registered users
The newest registered user is hellsheep

Our users have posted a total of 25555 messages in 643 subjects
Search
 
 

Display results as :
 
Rechercher Advanced Search

Share | 
 

 Opinion of Console Games

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
Go to page : 1, 2  Next
AuthorMessage
Nakia the Rogue
Janitor
avatar


PostSubject: Opinion of Console Games   Sat Feb 16, 2013 1:52 pm

Ran across this Blog by accident. The English could be a bit better but I think the opinion interesting. I just have one question. If he doesn't like Console games why is he playing them?
Blog on Console Games

_________________
Blind faith is a liability: Skepticism a necessity.
Back to top Go down
http://www.forums-dragoncaptions.com/index.php
Trip
Psycho Princess
avatar


PostSubject: Re: Opinion of Console Games   Sat Feb 16, 2013 5:43 pm

I really enjoy console games. Some are just better on a console. It's like DAO, I have it for the PS3 and the PC and I prefer it on the PS3.
On the other hand, I like my PC for other stuff. Just depends on what you want.

The guy writing that thing needs to be shot though. His grammar and spelling are dreadful and is it really necessary to keep saying "i meen" all the time? Plank

_________________
Seven deadly sins, seven days in a week....have a fabulous week.

And the Lord said to John "Come forth and receive eternal life" but John came fifth and won a toaster

Carabas said I'm adorable and he's the boss so you all have to listen!
Back to top Go down
Carabas
Pole Dancer Impersonator
avatar


PostSubject: Re: Opinion of Console Games   Sat Feb 16, 2013 5:51 pm

Console are handy when you own a big TV and they are convenient (performance wise you may get less out of a console but you don't have to worry about a game not working on your system) but console games are usually much more expensive and you can't mod them (unless you are really good with computer stuff).

Last but not least some games are not available on the PC.

I'm using an Xbox gamepad for the PC. Playing with a gamepad is convenient for some titles (you don't have to be hunched back over your keyboard).

_________________
"Growing old is inevitable but growing up is optional."
Back to top Go down
http://bellesakurasaloon.frenchboard.com
Lndf117
Spam Watch Sheriff
avatar


PostSubject: Re: Opinion of Console Games   Sat Feb 16, 2013 6:29 pm

I find some games are better or more convenient for consoles and i prefer others on pc. I do have to ask why he is playing console games and then complaining because consoles from 2005 aren't as powerful as a new computer. Honestly i disagree with his comment that controllers and mouse and keyboard should be left behind in favor of an "upgrade" Personally, i have played a kinect and its fun for games made specifically for it but i wouldn't like to play every game with that.

The reason consoles are weaker is because new computer hardware comes out periodically while consoles only get new hardware each new "generation." As each new generation gets closer the limitations of the previous ones become more apparent and people start to complain or notice it, of course those that pay attention to trends with pc gaming will notice them quicker because for example battlefield 3 looks better and has more players per match on pc than its console versions.

I play on both and yes consoles have their limits but the point is that they are easier to set up and often more convenient to use depending on where your computer is.

I use a 360 controller for some games, skyrim included, because it is easier.
Back to top Go down
dragoniguana
World Savior
avatar


PostSubject: Re: Opinion of Console Games   Sat Feb 16, 2013 8:20 pm

The best gaming is a mix of PC and consoles. There's the obvious fact that some games can't be played on both- to play Uncharted, you gotta get a PS3, and for Total War, you need a PC. Then there are games clearly superior on one or the other- The Elder Scrolls or Fallout is way better on a PC, and I find that Psychonauts, Hitman, or other heavy controller-based games are better on consoles. Then it comes down to personal preference- I much prefer Mass Effect on consoles, and I won't even touch Dragon Age: Origins unless it's the PC version.
Back to top Go down
http://bellesakurasaloon.frenchboard.com
Trip
Psycho Princess
avatar


PostSubject: Re: Opinion of Console Games   Sat Feb 16, 2013 9:37 pm

I hate DAO on the PC, it's complicated!

_________________
Seven deadly sins, seven days in a week....have a fabulous week.

And the Lord said to John "Come forth and receive eternal life" but John came fifth and won a toaster

Carabas said I'm adorable and he's the boss so you all have to listen!
Back to top Go down
BlackZarak
The Architect
avatar


PostSubject: Re: Opinion of Console Games   Sun Feb 17, 2013 12:41 am

Meh. I bought DAO on PS3 and I never played it. I have a PS3 and it's gathering dust in the living room, I barely use it. I used to buy the WWE games every year, but past 2011 it became so crappy I no longer bothered.

_________________
SKELETONS RIDING OSTRICHES
Back to top Go down
Carabas
Pole Dancer Impersonator
avatar


PostSubject: Re: Opinion of Console Games   Sun Feb 17, 2013 1:06 am

I'm useless with the PS3 gamepad, it's way too small for my hands. That's why I like the Xbox controller.

Dragoniguana summed things up pretty well. It all depends on the game you want to play.

_________________
"Growing old is inevitable but growing up is optional."
Back to top Go down
http://bellesakurasaloon.frenchboard.com
Trip
Psycho Princess
avatar


PostSubject: Re: Opinion of Console Games   Sun Feb 17, 2013 9:13 am

Skorp you should really try Resident Evil 5. It's great

_________________
Seven deadly sins, seven days in a week....have a fabulous week.

And the Lord said to John "Come forth and receive eternal life" but John came fifth and won a toaster

Carabas said I'm adorable and he's the boss so you all have to listen!
Back to top Go down
RYUchan
Visitor
avatar


PostSubject: Re: Opinion of Console Games   Sun Feb 17, 2013 9:43 am

Due to the specifics of my country, PC was the only thing for a long time to play on. So personally I don't really like consoles to the point I rather play a second hand PS2 CD on the emulator than on the actual console. I also don't like the idea of buying a PC and games for it together with buying consoles AND games for it. It's a just a waste of money I think Smile However I can't say I hate consoles it's just not my thing

What I reallly hate are: console like GUIs and controls that are barely usable on PC like in DMC3, Dark Souls and etc. I also not very fond of the overall influence of consoles on PC game market and on PC games as a product.

What I like in games is control over the rules of the game. If I don't like something I find a mod that change it or make a mod myself. Modding on consoles is almost complitely impossible or extremely difficult, I remember hacking a console Memory card savestates that was nasty, I wasted a lot of time to edit several things. Even if a game is ported on PC it is still not modable, so the only mods that are ok to do are reskinning and retexturing which is rather boring.

@Silvery
RE 5 is a great coop game. You go on killing spree to waste a charismatic villain Wesker and a huge bunch of black guys turned into zombies. Personally I think Wesker is a Chriss's fan I mean he always shout his name out loud and mention him A LOT . Laughing
Back to top Go down
Trip
Psycho Princess
avatar


PostSubject: Re: Opinion of Console Games   Sun Feb 17, 2013 10:57 am

Yeah, it's fantastic escapism. Not all the zombies are black though! I had to laugh at the fuss people made when the game came out "It's disgusting that 90% of the zombies are black"
"The game's set in Africa"
"Ah, yes but....."

_________________
Seven deadly sins, seven days in a week....have a fabulous week.

And the Lord said to John "Come forth and receive eternal life" but John came fifth and won a toaster

Carabas said I'm adorable and he's the boss so you all have to listen!
Back to top Go down
dragoniguana
World Savior
avatar


PostSubject: Re: Opinion of Console Games   Sun Feb 17, 2013 11:56 am

Silvery wrote:
I hate DAO on the PC, it's complicated!

Haha, that's why I love it. DA:O on PS3 just felt dumbed-down. With no tactical view, the crappy quick-select menu, etc., it just felt like it was extremely watered down compared to the PC version. Not to mention the fact that the graphics are terrible on PS3.
Back to top Go down
http://bellesakurasaloon.frenchboard.com
RYUchan
Visitor
avatar


PostSubject: Re: Opinion of Console Games   Sun Feb 17, 2013 3:29 pm

Silvery wrote:
Yeah, it's fantastic escapism. Not all the zombies are black though! I had to laugh at the fuss people made when the game came out "It's disgusting that 90% of the zombies are black"
"The game's set in Africa"
"Ah, yes but....."

People with issues will always find things that offend them, because a person with issues is always seaching for them subconsciously. As for me it was a refreshing setting for killing zombies Smile

But RE 5 is not RE anymore, it's not creepy or scary it's just a shooter, a good one, but has nothing to do with RE.
Back to top Go down
Trip
Psycho Princess
avatar


PostSubject: Re: Opinion of Console Games   Sun Feb 17, 2013 4:50 pm

Ah see, I play RE5 because I have certain issues with members of my family so it's easier to blast the heads off BOW's than it is to blast the heads off my family...much less paperwork involved Laughing

Yes, DAO is dumbed down on the PS but that's why I enjoy it more I think. I don't want to have to think too much right now. I have two kids, a business, a husband and all the associated so it's nice to turn my brain off and go round thinkg 'Oooh, see monster, kill monster, pick up shiney things'

_________________
Seven deadly sins, seven days in a week....have a fabulous week.

And the Lord said to John "Come forth and receive eternal life" but John came fifth and won a toaster

Carabas said I'm adorable and he's the boss so you all have to listen!
Back to top Go down
Carabas
Pole Dancer Impersonator
avatar


PostSubject: Re: Opinion of Console Games   Sun Feb 17, 2013 5:14 pm

Games are meant to be enjoyed. Wink

_________________
"Growing old is inevitable but growing up is optional."
Back to top Go down
http://bellesakurasaloon.frenchboard.com
Chris-919
Visitor
avatar


PostSubject: Re: Opinion of Console Games   Mon Feb 18, 2013 5:14 pm

I agree with dragoniguana. Some games are just far better on mouse, namely just about every first person shooter. You can be far more accurate and quicker when it comes to aiming, with a pad its slower and harder to specifically aim which is why a lot of console shooters have auto aim switched on by default.
However pads are better for some games even on the PC. Assassins Creed series is better and so is Batman Arkham Asylum. They're perfectly playable on mouse and keys but the pad feels better. It depends entirely on the game since the conversion of Dark Souls to PC resulted in some horrific key bindings and imho the game is only enjoyable with a pad.
Back to top Go down
http://shadowness.com/Chris-919
RYUchan
Visitor
avatar


PostSubject: Re: Opinion of Console Games   Tue Feb 19, 2013 4:35 pm

@Chris-919

I agree with you complitely aside from one thing. I personaly manage to create a binding on Dark Souls that is very easy to fight with. I used a mouse binding mod and bind 2 menu actions to one key. On the other hand it doesn't really counts because without mods DS is barely playable on PC at all Smile
Back to top Go down
Kana
Catnip Purveyor
avatar


PostSubject: Re: Opinion of Console Games   Wed Feb 20, 2013 4:32 am

I haven't played a console game in a long time, but I really have no problems with the platforms. A lot of PC gamers complain about consoles holding PC games back graphically, but I honestly don't care about that. Most of the games I play are old ones. A good game isn't defined by its eye-candy.

I was thinking of picking up Dragon's Dogma at some point, which is a console exclusive. It's a Japanese attempt at a Western RPG. I'm curious to see how it turned out, because I got my start with JRPGs, but haven't played one in about a decade.
Back to top Go down
Carabas
Pole Dancer Impersonator
avatar


PostSubject: Re: Opinion of Console Games   Wed Feb 20, 2013 5:46 pm

I don't think that graphics are the worst thing when it comes to games being available for both consoles and computers (I personally think some older games have great art direction and I find some of them more appealling than more recent titles).

Many PC players argue that consoles are responsible for dumbing down games and it's hard to gainsay that there is some truth behind this statement...

In the old days there was a major divide between computer games and console games and it was easy to tell the difference between titles meant for one platform or the other and that isn't true anymore. Whether this is a good thing or a bad thing is up to discussion. I for one liked the fact that computer games used to be more demanding and more complex (and I mean that in a good way).

_________________
"Growing old is inevitable but growing up is optional."
Back to top Go down
http://bellesakurasaloon.frenchboard.com
Trip
Psycho Princess
avatar


PostSubject: Re: Opinion of Console Games   Wed Feb 20, 2013 8:37 pm

It's a bit like saying that ACDC isn't as good as Mozart.
The reason one is there is because of the other but it's peoples perceptions that make one better than the other

_________________
Seven deadly sins, seven days in a week....have a fabulous week.

And the Lord said to John "Come forth and receive eternal life" but John came fifth and won a toaster

Carabas said I'm adorable and he's the boss so you all have to listen!
Back to top Go down
Nakia the Rogue
Janitor
avatar


PostSubject: Re: Opinion of Console Games   Wed Feb 20, 2013 9:47 pm

If we all liked the same things and had the same opinion this would be a very boring world. As long as we have choices that is fine. What I do think is that when publishers stepped into the picture and have control of the finances choices do get lost. Games are pushed out buggy. People who enjoy immersive, challenging games get very little choice. The market is aimed at the unwashed masses because that is where the money is. I think the focus on Console Gamers has dumped down games but gamers do still have choices and can vote with their wallets. Kickstarters provide Gamers the chance to back the type of games they like. It is now up to developers to chose what they want to do.

_________________
Blind faith is a liability: Skepticism a necessity.
Back to top Go down
http://www.forums-dragoncaptions.com/index.php
BlackZarak
The Architect
avatar


PostSubject: Re: Opinion of Console Games   Wed Apr 29, 2015 4:44 am

Thread necromancy but I definitively missed this one.

Consoles are absolute garbage. Why would I want to play a bastardized, dumbed down version which is going to be better on PC anyway?

A PC can be upgraded at will, the only way to upgrade a console is to buy the next gen version which costs pretty much the same as a good PC upgrade.

The only redeeming feature would be couch coop. I played Diablo 3 with some friends from my computer tech PSD on XB1, and we all had a good time.

The console exclusives are nowhere near good enough to justify dishing out my money for one of those crappy lower end PC.

I would never be caught dead near a console. PC Master race!

_________________
SKELETONS RIDING OSTRICHES
Back to top Go down
Carabas
Pole Dancer Impersonator
avatar


PostSubject: Re: Opinion of Console Games   Wed Apr 29, 2015 7:01 am

Quote :
PC Master race!

That meme originated in this video:


What started as a tasteless joke was taken out of context and (un)ironically became a standard on the internet.

There is a very good piece about what is wrong with that meme: Let's stop calling ourselves the "PC Master Race".

It's not just about some PC bullshit and I know most people are not so sensitive or don't feel uncomfortable about referring casually to Nazis or other supremacists. Truth is, the Reddit page does come with a disclaimer but it remains a rather unsavoury phrase (which may very well explain why it has caught on so well on the internet).

_________________
"Growing old is inevitable but growing up is optional."
Back to top Go down
http://bellesakurasaloon.frenchboard.com
BlackZarak
The Architect
avatar


PostSubject: Re: Opinion of Console Games   Wed Apr 29, 2015 7:44 am

It's Yahtzee. No surprises there.

I've actually had the PC vs consoles debate with my coworker tonight. I remain firm on my view that consoles are useless piles of toot, but just because I despise them and would NEVER buy one doesn't mean I can't see the appeal.

In the end, it's all about getting what is best for you. A PC is ultimately infinitely more versatile than a console and suits my needs better, and as an added bonus the PC ports are generally better. Except for those appaling Ubisoft ports, who suck harder than the vacuum of space.

As for the phrase being unsavory -- eh, whatever. I ignore console gamers and don't bother getting into debates with them. Opinions are like assholes -- everyone has one, and mine is that PC is better.

_________________
SKELETONS RIDING OSTRICHES
Back to top Go down
Carabas
Pole Dancer Impersonator
avatar


PostSubject: Re: Opinion of Console Games   Wed Apr 29, 2015 10:06 am

Ubisoft is not worse than many other companies unfortunately...

BlackZarak wrote:
As for the phrase being unsavory -- eh, whatever. I ignore console gamers and don't bother getting into debates with them. Opinions are like assholes -- everyone has one, and mine is that PC is better.

I'm not talking about smelling roses, it's unsavoury because it's a direct reference to those Nazi pricks who believe in the purity of the Aryan race when genetics tell us a different story.

That has nothing to do with consoles vs computers and someone putting a disclaimer on the Reddit page doesn't alter the fact that it's a really poor choice of words.

You know what a console is? It's a low end PC that is mass produced and meant to work on TVs with a controller instead of a keyboard and mouse. The good thing is that it's supposed to be plug and play so anyone should be able to use one and have the same gaming experience, the bad thing is that it's not very useful outside of entertainment.

Performance wise you can plug in a controller and use some HDMI cable to set a decent computer on a widescreen TV and you will get better performance than any console on the market today (with the added bonus of being able to use mods).

Console exclusives don't justify getting a console IMHO.

_________________
"Growing old is inevitable but growing up is optional."
Back to top Go down
http://bellesakurasaloon.frenchboard.com
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Opinion of Console Games   

Back to top Go down
 
Opinion of Console Games
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 2Go to page : 1, 2  Next

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Belle Sakura Saloon :: The Gaming House :: The Hole in the Wall-
Jump to: