Renegades of the Internet come discuss your favourite games, voice acting, technicalities and other topics on our forum.
 
HomeCalendarFAQRegisterLog in
Log in
Username:
Password:
Log in automatically: 
:: I forgot my password
Latest topics
» Titan Quest Immortal Throne
by Sue77 Today at 9:58 am

» Crusaders Kings 2
by Carabas Fri Nov 17, 2017 9:18 am

» Divinity: Original Sin 2
by Carabas Thu Nov 16, 2017 9:08 pm

» Assassin's Creed Origins
by Carabas Thu Nov 09, 2017 8:14 pm

» ChinaDroid review - VKWorld Mix Plus
by BlackZarak Thu Oct 19, 2017 5:40 am

» Why the original Fallout is still my favourite game 13 years later
by Carabas Sun Oct 01, 2017 1:59 pm

» Fallout 4 Mods
by Carabas Mon Sep 18, 2017 8:20 am

» Fallout: New California/Project Brazil
by Carabas Fri Sep 08, 2017 5:43 am

» XCOM 2 First Impressions
by Carabas Fri Sep 01, 2017 8:25 pm

» Mods for Skyrim
by BlackZarak Sun Aug 06, 2017 6:27 am

» Age of Decadence
by Carabas Wed Jul 26, 2017 7:07 pm

» Far Cry 3
by Carabas Tue Jun 06, 2017 1:39 pm

Who is online?
In total there is 1 user online :: 0 Registered, 0 Hidden and 1 Guest

None

Most users ever online was 39 on Wed Jul 09, 2014 8:37 pm
Statistics
We have 42 registered users
The newest registered user is hellsheep

Our users have posted a total of 25556 messages in 643 subjects
Search
 
 

Display results as :
 
Rechercher Advanced Search

Share | 
 

 Opinion of Console Games

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
Go to page : Previous  1, 2
AuthorMessage
BlackZarak
The Architect
avatar


PostSubject: Re: Opinion of Console Games   Wed Apr 29, 2015 9:14 pm

Quote :
You know what a console is? It's a low end PC that is mass produced and meant to work on TVs with a controller instead of a keyboard and mouse. The good thing is that it's supposed to be plug and play so anyone should be able to use one and have the same gaming experience, the bad thing is that it's not very useful outside of entertainment.

Performance wise you can plug in a controller and use some HDMI cable to set a decent computer on a widescreen TV and you will get better performance than any console on the market today (with the added bonus of being able to use mods).

Console exclusives don't justify getting a console IMHO.

Nearly exactly what I said.

_________________
SKELETONS RIDING OSTRICHES
Back to top Go down
Kana
Catnip Purveyor
avatar


PostSubject: Re: Opinion of Console Games   Thu Apr 30, 2015 12:03 am

I would really like to play Bloodborne, but not enough to pay 400 dollars or whatever for a PS4. Especially when that's the only console exclusive I have any interest in. I hope Sony will eventually allow a PC port.
Back to top Go down
BlackZarak
The Architect
avatar


PostSubject: Re: Opinion of Console Games   Fri May 01, 2015 4:34 am

Most likely it eventually be ported, but then again this is Sony we're talking about, the same company which releases a 1200$ Walkman and memory cards for "premium sound".

They have a tendency to be twats.

_________________
SKELETONS RIDING OSTRICHES
Back to top Go down
Carabas
Pole Dancer Impersonator
avatar


PostSubject: Re: Opinion of Console Games   Fri May 01, 2015 7:56 am

They keep exlusive titles as long as they can so when they do port them people who already have them on the console will buy them again. See how they are currently promoting GTA5, it would seem the original console version is chopped liver compared to the PC.

There is another big drawback with consoles by the way, loading times...

_________________
"Growing old is inevitable but growing up is optional."
Back to top Go down
http://bellesakurasaloon.frenchboard.com
BlackZarak
The Architect
avatar


PostSubject: Re: Opinion of Console Games   Fri May 01, 2015 8:11 am

Double-dipping is a crass tactic. Then again, if you're enough of a twat to buy the same game twice, you deserve to get ripped off. The only exception I can think of would be old games where the original media might no longer work, like my copy of LoLG, and the M&M collection from HB.

Loading times? One more reason to get a PC.

_________________
SKELETONS RIDING OSTRICHES
Back to top Go down
Carabas
Pole Dancer Impersonator
avatar


PostSubject: Re: Opinion of Console Games   Fri May 01, 2015 11:46 am

There are exceptions, I still have several physical copies of Fallout 1 and 2 (including the original boxes from the 90s) and I also have them on GOG. Smile

The shameful business model that they are putting forward these days is releasing a better version of an existing game to cash in on users who've been playing right from the start (it happened with Sleeping Dogs, Deus Ex HR, Dark Souls 2, State of Decay, the Metro series).

It's like Steam taking a 30% cut when it's sometimes possible to find a better price if you're willing to buy a physical copy at the shop around the corner.

Some things are only worth getting on sales and that's another point in favour of computers. Console games are really overpriced. I guess it's easier to rent or trade in games for consoles but even on full priced new releases the difference can be rather important.

_________________
"Growing old is inevitable but growing up is optional."
Back to top Go down
http://bellesakurasaloon.frenchboard.com
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Opinion of Console Games   

Back to top Go down
 
Opinion of Console Games
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 2 of 2Go to page : Previous  1, 2

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Belle Sakura Saloon :: The Gaming House :: The Hole in the Wall-
Jump to: