Renegades of the Internet come discuss your favourite games, voice acting, technicalities and other topics on our forum.
 
HomeCalendarFAQRegisterLog in
Log in
Username:
Password:
Log in automatically: 
:: I forgot my password
Latest topics
» Titan Quest Immortal Throne
by Sue77 Today at 3:25 pm

» Crusaders Kings 2
by Carabas Yesterday at 9:18 am

» Divinity: Original Sin 2
by Carabas Thu Nov 16, 2017 9:08 pm

» Assassin's Creed Origins
by Carabas Thu Nov 09, 2017 8:14 pm

» ChinaDroid review - VKWorld Mix Plus
by BlackZarak Thu Oct 19, 2017 5:40 am

» Why the original Fallout is still my favourite game 13 years later
by Carabas Sun Oct 01, 2017 1:59 pm

» Fallout 4 Mods
by Carabas Mon Sep 18, 2017 8:20 am

» Fallout: New California/Project Brazil
by Carabas Fri Sep 08, 2017 5:43 am

» XCOM 2 First Impressions
by Carabas Fri Sep 01, 2017 8:25 pm

» Mods for Skyrim
by BlackZarak Sun Aug 06, 2017 6:27 am

» Age of Decadence
by Carabas Wed Jul 26, 2017 7:07 pm

» Far Cry 3
by Carabas Tue Jun 06, 2017 1:39 pm

Who is online?
In total there is 1 user online :: 0 Registered, 0 Hidden and 1 Guest

None

Most users ever online was 39 on Wed Jul 09, 2014 8:37 pm
Statistics
We have 42 registered users
The newest registered user is hellsheep

Our users have posted a total of 25554 messages in 643 subjects
Search
 
 

Display results as :
 
Rechercher Advanced Search

Share | 
 

 Prisoners - Film Review

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
Sue77
Enlightened Viewer
avatar


PostSubject: Prisoners - Film Review   Sat Oct 19, 2013 2:23 pm

It is Thanksgiving.  Two families get together and celebrate; their young daughters go outside and disappear.  Suspicion falls upon the driver of a van that was seen in the neighbourhood, but when brought in for questioning, no link can be established; the forensic search of the van yields no evidence the girls were ever inside it.  So, the suspect is released back into society causing a suspicious father, who is driven by a promise to protect his family, to become enraged.

On the surface this is a simple premise for the drama that unfolds, but the film script from Aaron Gulzikoski slowly unravels a nihilist and vengeful tale of retribution and depravity.  At times, this is a dark and uncompromising film which asks an uncomfortable question of its audience – how far would you go if your child was abducted and you were certain information was being withheld?  However, for every action there is a consequence, so arguably the film is supportive of Law and Order rather than subverting the concept.   Instead we’re presented with a convoluted tale that I felt asked its audience to understand the motivations and actions of the girl’s parents, rather than supporting or condemning them.  Yet, despite this there is a moral tone to Prisoners that definitely resides with civilized, rather than savage, behaviour.

The acting in this film is of a high standard.  Performances are generally believable and the complexity of the central characters is explored within the film’s premise.  Hugh Jackson’s performance as a man who’s drive to rescue his daughter leads him to take extreme measures, felt slightly overplayed to me, but the disintegration of his moral perspective was well realised.  Jake Gyllenhaal plays the detective who is trying to find the missing girls, whilst attempting to juggle the demands of a father against police regulations.  This is a strong well nuanced performance in my opinion.  

Due to the structure of the narrative and the manner in which Prisoners was shot, the audience are able to be one step ahead of the detective, which creates terrific tension as you watch the film.  The viewer becomes aware that clues have not been seen, important snippets of conversation disregarded.   This manner of information is there from the beginning of the film, so everything you see and hear can be filtered and understood as the story progresses.  Consequently this isn’t a fast paced movie; rather it’s one which steadily builds up to a climax.  

Praise is due to the film’s director, Denis Villeneuve for clear and constructive cinematography.  This is an organised movie that reveals the layers of the story without dumbing down the material, or the audience.  However, as substantial and solid the sum of its parts are, as much as I’m pleased to have seen it, Prisoners makes for a gruelling ride into parts of our psyche most of us would hope we never face.
Back to top Go down
http://www.wabbit.co.uk
 
Prisoners - Film Review
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Belle Sakura Saloon :: The Saloon :: The Silver Screen-
Jump to: