Renegades of the Internet come discuss your favourite games, voice acting, technicalities and other topics on our forum.
 
HomeCalendarFAQRegisterLog in
Log in
Username:
Password:
Log in automatically: 
:: I forgot my password
Latest topics
» Divinity: Original Sin 2
by Carabas Yesterday at 4:55 pm

» Fallout 4 Mods
by Carabas Mon Sep 18, 2017 8:20 am

» Fallout: New California/Project Brazil
by Carabas Fri Sep 08, 2017 5:43 am

» XCOM 2 First Impressions
by Carabas Fri Sep 01, 2017 8:25 pm

» Crusaders Kings 2
by Carabas Sun Aug 27, 2017 6:34 pm

» Mods for Skyrim
by BlackZarak Sun Aug 06, 2017 6:27 am

» Age of Decadence
by Carabas Wed Jul 26, 2017 7:07 pm

» Far Cry 3
by Carabas Tue Jun 06, 2017 1:39 pm

» Shiness: The Lightning Kingdom
by Carabas Wed Apr 19, 2017 5:56 pm

» Rise of the Argonauts
by Carabas Fri Apr 14, 2017 6:37 pm

» The Fall of the Dungeon Guardians
by Carabas Fri Apr 14, 2017 8:53 am

» Carmageddon Max Damage
by Carabas Fri Apr 07, 2017 10:35 am

Who is online?
In total there is 1 user online :: 0 Registered, 0 Hidden and 1 Guest

None

Most users ever online was 39 on Wed Jul 09, 2014 8:37 pm
Statistics
We have 41 registered users
The newest registered user is kaay

Our users have posted a total of 25359 messages in 641 subjects
Search
 
 

Display results as :
 
Rechercher Advanced Search

Share | 
 

 Last Passenger - Film Review

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
Sue77
Enlightened Viewer
avatar


PostSubject: Last Passenger - Film Review   Mon Oct 28, 2013 10:19 am

This low budget British action movie is the first film directed by Omid Nooshin. It’s something of a mixed bag, but I suspect the good aspects might get lost in the general negativity that surrounds the entire concept of a ‘British’ action film. Last Passenger isn’t a Hollywood blockbuster and at no point pretends to be, so in relation to many action films, this one has a low key, internal atmosphere. However, I felt this was the intention of the director as almost every external event; for instance the attempts of the police to assist those trapped on the train, is viewed through the windows by the passengers. Consequently, the majority of Last Passenger is shot from inside the train.

The four carriages used were supported hydraulically to reproduce the movement of a train and, for the most part, this is very successful. There were only odd moments where I expected the carriage and the passengers to be moving more than they actually were. Still, this hydraulic movement added tension as the story unfolded. It worked as a device that drew the viewer into the confines of the carriage and added to the sense of speed. Also, the level of detail in respect of the mechanics of a train worked well.

The actors did a good job with what I felt was an average script. It contained no surprises, stereotypes and felt a little forced in places. However, each of the main performers had a moment where they excelled and made the script more than the sum of its entirety. Lindsay Duncan in particular was noteworthy at one point. It takes time for the individual characters to become established, after which the pace of the film accelerates. Once underway, the main thrust of the film is a fight for survival on a speeding train, but the pathway up to this juncture is about as far removed from a blockbuster as you can get. There is something refreshingly old fashioned and yes, British, about the whole affair.

One aspect I felt was excellent was the original score. My only critique here would be it overwhelmed the action at times, but as an original piece of music - super. In addition, it added to the feeling Last Passenger was harking back to an older style. Another aspect I felt was surprisingly good was the special effects.

So over all this film is worth a watch. It’s enjoyable, has its moments, good special effects and a film score that works with the ethos of the movie. As first films go, this is a sterling effort.
Back to top Go down
http://www.wabbit.co.uk
Triactus
Emperor
avatar


PostSubject: Re: Last Passenger - Film Review   Mon Oct 28, 2013 1:05 pm

Thanks for the review Sue. I might check it out!

_________________
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving definitely isn't for you.
- Steven Wright
Back to top Go down
 
Last Passenger - Film Review
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Belle Sakura Saloon :: The Saloon :: The Silver Screen-
Jump to: