Renegades of the Internet come discuss your favourite games, voice acting, technicalities and other topics on our forum.
 
HomeCalendarFAQRegisterLog in
Log in
Username:
Password:
Log in automatically: 
:: I forgot my password
Latest topics
» Titan Quest Immortal Throne
by Sue77 Today at 3:25 pm

» Crusaders Kings 2
by Carabas Yesterday at 9:18 am

» Divinity: Original Sin 2
by Carabas Thu Nov 16, 2017 9:08 pm

» Assassin's Creed Origins
by Carabas Thu Nov 09, 2017 8:14 pm

» ChinaDroid review - VKWorld Mix Plus
by BlackZarak Thu Oct 19, 2017 5:40 am

» Why the original Fallout is still my favourite game 13 years later
by Carabas Sun Oct 01, 2017 1:59 pm

» Fallout 4 Mods
by Carabas Mon Sep 18, 2017 8:20 am

» Fallout: New California/Project Brazil
by Carabas Fri Sep 08, 2017 5:43 am

» XCOM 2 First Impressions
by Carabas Fri Sep 01, 2017 8:25 pm

» Mods for Skyrim
by BlackZarak Sun Aug 06, 2017 6:27 am

» Age of Decadence
by Carabas Wed Jul 26, 2017 7:07 pm

» Far Cry 3
by Carabas Tue Jun 06, 2017 1:39 pm

Who is online?
In total there is 1 user online :: 0 Registered, 0 Hidden and 1 Guest

None

Most users ever online was 39 on Wed Jul 09, 2014 8:37 pm
Statistics
We have 42 registered users
The newest registered user is hellsheep

Our users have posted a total of 25554 messages in 643 subjects
Search
 
 

Display results as :
 
Rechercher Advanced Search

Share | 
 

 Dragon Age:Origins My Opinion

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
Go to page : Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
AuthorMessage
simfamSP
Visitor
avatar


PostSubject: Re: Dragon Age:Origins My Opinion   Mon Feb 18, 2013 9:16 pm

Obsidian has had that problem way too many times before. Even FO:NV suffered for it. I'm so glad they kick-started Project Eternity.

However, I could see the Black Isle in KOTOR II, a sharp contrast to the usual BioWare forumla. The narrative was much darker, mysterious and didn't feel like Star Wars at all!

I loved that.
Back to top Go down
http://www.youtube.com/user/simfamSP?feature=mhum#p/c/D00A751812
Carabas
Pole Dancer Impersonator
avatar


PostSubject: Re: Dragon Age:Origins My Opinion   Mon Feb 18, 2013 10:15 pm

I've completed Kotor 2 with the restored content mod and it rocks:

http://deadlystream.com/forum/files/file/197-tsl-restored-content-mod/

In all fairness DAO never got fixed properly either and last I checked a user made patch was the only way to get rid of some pretty annoying bugs. The good people at Bioware were probably too busy releasing extra content and working on the sequel (and its day one DLC).

Regarding FNV Obsidian was screwed by Bethesda plain and simple. It's obvious that many things had to be cut from the game and it took quite some time for the game to be patched so it could run properly (basically the first FNV players were treated like beta testers).

Quote :
The narrative was much darker, mysterious and didn't feel like Star Wars at all!

Depends on your perspective regarding the Star Wars setting. If you equate it with ewoks and Jar Jar Binks then I can see your point but if you're familiar with the Old Republic setting and the Sith then the story behind Kotor 1 and 2 really fits in the Star Wars universe.

_________________
"Growing old is inevitable but growing up is optional."
Back to top Go down
http://bellesakurasaloon.frenchboard.com
Chris-919
Visitor
avatar


PostSubject: Re: Dragon Age:Origins My Opinion   Mon Feb 18, 2013 11:02 pm

Lndf117 wrote:
Kotor 2 wasn't made by bioware but i would consider it worth playing anyway.

Yeah good point mate. I guess because its a sequel which is the main reason why I forgot it wasn't done by Bioware.

Triactus: Definately Bioware's Casey Hudson was one of the chief criminals. Drew Karpyshyn had this great idea for Dark Matter but Hudson threw it out and wanted Star Child.

In general I think the problem with Obsidian is they have great ideas but either don't get enough time for development and as a result a lot of their projects are buggy, or they get saddled with a crap engine like what happened with FNV and Bethesda.

Carabas: Like the look of that mod. Might have to try that. Very Happy


Back to top Go down
http://shadowness.com/Chris-919
Nakia the Rogue
Janitor
avatar


PostSubject: Re: Dragon Age:Origins My Opinion   Mon Feb 18, 2013 11:10 pm

Project Eternity will prove if Obsidian has the right man-power. They have a good writer but do they have the scripturers? I think they are all right art and music wise. As a backer I hope for something really good from them.

_________________
Blind faith is a liability: Skepticism a necessity.
Back to top Go down
http://www.forums-dragoncaptions.com/index.php
Trip
Psycho Princess
avatar


PostSubject: Re: Dragon Age:Origins My Opinion   Tue Feb 26, 2013 9:06 pm

Hmmm, I'm tempted to play through again and see how many of those sickly sweet, shit-witted muppets I can upset. Doing that bit in the tower (The nightmare thingey) really puts me off though

_________________
Seven deadly sins, seven days in a week....have a fabulous week.

And the Lord said to John "Come forth and receive eternal life" but John came fifth and won a toaster

Carabas said I'm adorable and he's the boss so you all have to listen!
Back to top Go down
Nakia the Rogue
Janitor
avatar


PostSubject: Re: Dragon Age:Origins My Opinion   Wed Feb 27, 2013 10:53 am

The nightmare in the Mage's tower? I am trying to remember that one. It is were everyone is separated and you have that cicle thing to deal with. Yes?

_________________
Blind faith is a liability: Skepticism a necessity.
Back to top Go down
http://www.forums-dragoncaptions.com/index.php
Trip
Psycho Princess
avatar


PostSubject: Re: Dragon Age:Origins My Opinion   Wed Feb 27, 2013 11:15 am

Something like that. Bloody annoying and an excuse for MORE whining from the other characters. Unfortunately I have a problem with not completing things. It took me years to stop playing IWD2 as I had to play through the entire game with every race and alignment and then do it for both sexes. By the time I was halfway through I couldn't stand the game anymore but I couldn't NOT do it.
I read that Godawful 50 Shades of Grey trilogy as well. I picked up my sisters copy when I was bored at her house and then, because I had started reading it, I HAD to finish the trilogy even though I hated it.
It's an OCD thing. I should really not start anything new until I've read a lot of reviews, otherwise I get stuck with something that annoys the Hell out of me but I compulsively play because I freak out at the thought of leaving it unfinished!

_________________
Seven deadly sins, seven days in a week....have a fabulous week.

And the Lord said to John "Come forth and receive eternal life" but John came fifth and won a toaster

Carabas said I'm adorable and he's the boss so you all have to listen!
Back to top Go down
Triactus
Emperor
avatar


PostSubject: Re: Dragon Age:Origins My Opinion   Wed Feb 27, 2013 1:41 pm

I rather liked the nightmare part. I liked playing the other personnas, like the golem. YOU BAD, ME SMASH! jocolor

_________________
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving definitely isn't for you.
- Steven Wright
Back to top Go down
Nakia the Rogue
Janitor
avatar


PostSubject: Re: Dragon Age:Origins My Opinion   Wed Feb 27, 2013 1:54 pm

The nightmare was difficult and it took me several play-troughs to catch on to some tricks but I also enjoyed the different personas and figuring out when to use them. I loved that little mouse and sneaking by enemies. Then finding your companions and persuading them that they were dreaming. The end of that sequence I found very hard. That guy was very hard to kill.

_________________
Blind faith is a liability: Skepticism a necessity.
Back to top Go down
http://www.forums-dragoncaptions.com/index.php
Triactus
Emperor
avatar


PostSubject: Re: Dragon Age:Origins My Opinion   Wed Feb 27, 2013 2:00 pm

Nakia the Rogue wrote:
The end of that sequence I found very hard. That guy was very hard to kill.

Good, so I'm not the only one... Smile Another hard battle is the one with the possessed paladin right before you enter the nightmare. I reloaded so many times it was ridiculous.

_________________
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving definitely isn't for you.
- Steven Wright
Back to top Go down
Nakia the Rogue
Janitor
avatar


PostSubject: Re: Dragon Age:Origins My Opinion   Wed Feb 27, 2013 2:26 pm

Another battle that I found almost impossible was killing that guy who wanted to be king. If I ever replay the game I think I will do as much as I can to get to a very high level before taking that on. Maybe that would help.

_________________
Blind faith is a liability: Skepticism a necessity.
Back to top Go down
http://www.forums-dragoncaptions.com/index.php
Triactus
Emperor
avatar


PostSubject: Re: Dragon Age:Origins My Opinion   Wed Feb 27, 2013 2:29 pm

Humm, I don't remember that battle. When was it? Do you mean the Logan fight?

Oh, and one fight I never did was against Morrigan's mother. The only times I tried, my ass was handed to me.

_________________
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving definitely isn't for you.
- Steven Wright
Back to top Go down
Nakia the Rogue
Janitor
avatar


PostSubject: Re: Dragon Age:Origins My Opinion   Wed Feb 27, 2013 2:51 pm

I think it was the Logan fight. When you try to make Alistair king. I did the fight with the Witch not easy but don't remember it being that hard. I also did the quest without killing her.

_________________
Blind faith is a liability: Skepticism a necessity.
Back to top Go down
http://www.forums-dragoncaptions.com/index.php
Carabas
Pole Dancer Impersonator
avatar


PostSubject: Re: Dragon Age:Origins My Opinion   Thu Feb 28, 2013 4:40 am

DAO has a learning curve but once you get the hang of it the game shouldn't be too hard. There are some pretty cool mods that make the game more difficult.

What annoys me is the fact that cutscenes mess up all your preparation by transporting your entire party so they can be conveniently surrounded by your enemies. That is so preposterous and annoying...

_________________
"Growing old is inevitable but growing up is optional."
Back to top Go down
http://bellesakurasaloon.frenchboard.com
Triactus
Emperor
avatar


PostSubject: Re: Dragon Age:Origins My Opinion   Thu Feb 28, 2013 2:12 pm

Carabas wrote:
What annoys me is the fact that cutscenes mess up all your preparation by transporting your entire party so they can be conveniently surrounded by your enemies. That is so preposterous and annoying...

Oh yes, I completely agree with that! So stupid. If it were in real life, I would send my main character to talk, and keep my party hidden to flank the enemy... Smile

Does anyone here know what's in the works for DA 3 concerning Morrigan? (if anything at all). I know it's not canon story, but at the end, depending on the sex of your character, she comes up to you to offer you a deal :
Spoiler:
 

In the Witch Hunt DLC,
Spoiler:
 
. Now, when I imported my game in DA 2, that particular choice was clearly in the list of imported choices, leading me to believe it's not over. Only, there was nothing about that in DA 2... :/

_________________
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving definitely isn't for you.
- Steven Wright
Back to top Go down
Trip
Psycho Princess
avatar


PostSubject: Re: Dragon Age:Origins My Opinion   Thu Feb 28, 2013 2:32 pm

I like Morrigan. She's not as sickly as the other people

_________________
Seven deadly sins, seven days in a week....have a fabulous week.

And the Lord said to John "Come forth and receive eternal life" but John came fifth and won a toaster

Carabas said I'm adorable and he's the boss so you all have to listen!
Back to top Go down
RYUchan
Visitor
avatar


PostSubject: Re: Dragon Age:Origins My Opinion   Thu Feb 28, 2013 4:46 pm

Silvery wrote:
I like Morrigan. She's not as sickly as the other people

Sickly? She doesn't know about feelings of love even though she is an adult, she ran away from the relationships, just to give birth to some abomination with strange powers, how is it not sick.
Back to top Go down
Trip
Psycho Princess
avatar


PostSubject: Re: Dragon Age:Origins My Opinion   Thu Feb 28, 2013 5:19 pm

Haha, I mean sickly-sweet. You know if you eat something that has lots of sugar in it, you get the sticky sick feeling in your stomach? Characters like Alistair are a bit like that. Nice in small doses but by the end of the game, they make you want to throw up because they are so sweet and sugary Laughing

_________________
Seven deadly sins, seven days in a week....have a fabulous week.

And the Lord said to John "Come forth and receive eternal life" but John came fifth and won a toaster

Carabas said I'm adorable and he's the boss so you all have to listen!
Back to top Go down
Nakia the Rogue
Janitor
avatar


PostSubject: Re: Dragon Age:Origins My Opinion   Thu Feb 28, 2013 5:39 pm

I agree with Silvery, those sweet characters get boring after a while. I did end up feeling sorry for Alistair after I learned his background. Poor bastard got a raw deal from people. No wonder he had personality problems.

_________________
Blind faith is a liability: Skepticism a necessity.
Back to top Go down
http://www.forums-dragoncaptions.com/index.php
Trip
Psycho Princess
avatar


PostSubject: Re: Dragon Age:Origins My Opinion   Thu Feb 28, 2013 9:32 pm

That's no excuse for being a whiney bitch. Yes the lad lost his mother and didn't know his family but he was taken in by someone and given a good education and a trade and in return he cried and sulked and stamped his foot. Ungrateful little tart

_________________
Seven deadly sins, seven days in a week....have a fabulous week.

And the Lord said to John "Come forth and receive eternal life" but John came fifth and won a toaster

Carabas said I'm adorable and he's the boss so you all have to listen!
Back to top Go down
Nakia the Rogue
Janitor
avatar


PostSubject: Re: Dragon Age:Origins My Opinion   Thu Feb 28, 2013 9:43 pm

And got kicked out by hi foster father's wife because she suspected him as being the guy's natural son. Was made to feel inferior to his half brother. Shades of the man in The Iron Mask. He did get on my nerves but I still felt sorry for him. In reality he had no family, no sense of belonging. Not very good king material but at least he realized that.

_________________
Blind faith is a liability: Skepticism a necessity.
Back to top Go down
http://www.forums-dragoncaptions.com/index.php
Trip
Psycho Princess
avatar


PostSubject: Re: Dragon Age:Origins My Opinion   Thu Feb 28, 2013 9:49 pm

He wasn't abandoned, he wasn't abused, he just didn't get his own way

_________________
Seven deadly sins, seven days in a week....have a fabulous week.

And the Lord said to John "Come forth and receive eternal life" but John came fifth and won a toaster

Carabas said I'm adorable and he's the boss so you all have to listen!
Back to top Go down
Nakia the Rogue
Janitor
avatar


PostSubject: Re: Dragon Age:Origins My Opinion   Thu Feb 28, 2013 11:36 pm

Technically true but neither was he loved or wanted. Children need love and encouragement. Whether we admit it or not we all need to feel wanted, needed, important. Neglecting the emotional needs of a child is in my opinion a form of abuse. He grew up warped emotionally. I don't remember anything in the game that indicated that he demanded his own way quite the contrary he just seemed a lost soul to me, annoying yes but lost. There are many of those in the real world.

My favorite characters were Morrigan and the assassin. Second was the female mage. Sorry I am terrible at remembering names. My least favorite was that priestess girl. The others I was pretty neutral about.
I do like strong personalities, the week I pity and try to help sometimes foolishly. Other times they do bring out the sadist in me.

_________________
Blind faith is a liability: Skepticism a necessity.
Back to top Go down
http://www.forums-dragoncaptions.com/index.php
RYUchan
Visitor
avatar


PostSubject: Re: Dragon Age:Origins My Opinion   Thu Feb 28, 2013 11:43 pm

Silvery wrote:
He wasn't abandoned, he wasn't abused, he just didn't get his own way

Parents play a huge role in a child's psychology and his views of life. If a parent abandon his child at a point, it will stay with a child for the rest of his life. Of course you can work on it and get rid of the problem but I doubt there was a proper psychological education or a good shrink in DA:O Smile

Speaking of Morrigan I would never date a woman like Morrigan, she is just too disturbed. Maybe for a quick date but there is just too much trouble to build a healthy relationship on such a screwed up basis.

Man I got off topic Smile))
Back to top Go down
Nakia the Rogue
Janitor
avatar


PostSubject: Re: Dragon Age:Origins My Opinion   Thu Feb 28, 2013 11:59 pm

Morrigan is a strong, independent person raised in an unusual environment. She would probably not be interested in having a relationship, health or otherwise, with someone. What she wants is power. She and Alistair represent opposites. She the dominant personality he is the submissive personality.

_________________
Blind faith is a liability: Skepticism a necessity.
Back to top Go down
http://www.forums-dragoncaptions.com/index.php
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Dragon Age:Origins My Opinion   

Back to top Go down
 
Dragon Age:Origins My Opinion
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 3 of 5Go to page : Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Belle Sakura Saloon :: The Gaming House :: The Lonesome Cowboys :: The Grey Rangers-
Jump to: