Renegades of the Internet come discuss your favourite games, voice acting, technicalities and other topics on our forum.
 
HomeCalendarFAQRegisterLog in
Log in
Username:
Password:
Log in automatically: 
:: I forgot my password
Latest topics
» Titan Quest Immortal Throne
by Carabas Yesterday at 8:48 pm

» Crusaders Kings 2
by Carabas Fri Nov 17, 2017 9:18 am

» Divinity: Original Sin 2
by Carabas Thu Nov 16, 2017 9:08 pm

» Assassin's Creed Origins
by Carabas Thu Nov 09, 2017 8:14 pm

» ChinaDroid review - VKWorld Mix Plus
by BlackZarak Thu Oct 19, 2017 5:40 am

» Why the original Fallout is still my favourite game 13 years later
by Carabas Sun Oct 01, 2017 1:59 pm

» Fallout 4 Mods
by Carabas Mon Sep 18, 2017 8:20 am

» Fallout: New California/Project Brazil
by Carabas Fri Sep 08, 2017 5:43 am

» XCOM 2 First Impressions
by Carabas Fri Sep 01, 2017 8:25 pm

» Mods for Skyrim
by BlackZarak Sun Aug 06, 2017 6:27 am

» Age of Decadence
by Carabas Wed Jul 26, 2017 7:07 pm

» Far Cry 3
by Carabas Tue Jun 06, 2017 1:39 pm

Who is online?
In total there is 1 user online :: 0 Registered, 0 Hidden and 1 Guest

None

Most users ever online was 39 on Wed Jul 09, 2014 8:37 pm
Statistics
We have 42 registered users
The newest registered user is hellsheep

Our users have posted a total of 25555 messages in 643 subjects
Search
 
 

Display results as :
 
Rechercher Advanced Search

Share | 
 

 iNQ Chat 3G review

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
BlackZarak
The Architect
avatar


PostSubject: iNQ Chat 3G review   Fri May 27, 2011 2:32 am

Today, we take a look at the iNQ Chat 3G. The Chat 3G is a feature phone, in this case, a F'N Facebook/Twitter social networking garbage.

On the hardware front, this one looks like a BlackBerry. The keyboard, however, feels WAAAAAY cheaper than a true BlackBerry keyboard such as my 8350i who are made of solid plastic.

The phone runs iNQ's System 1, which is based on BREW. I will say it plainly -- it's slow. The photo gallery is slow, and only gets slower the more pictures in it. The camera is also slow, but it has auto-focus, which is sort of redeeming, because to my surprise, the iNQ Chat dished out some damn good pics for a camera phone, as a matter of fact my Minecraft screenshots were taken with this phone.

As for network support, the Chat is 3G HSPA/2G GSM. I believe HSPA is on 850/1900, and 850/900/1900 for GSM.

I unlocked mine yesterday and plonked in my FIDO SIM. I did some phone calls, and the Chat 3G performed better than it did on it's original provider's network.

Speaking of phone calls, the Chat 3G performed well on that front. Earpiece not loud enough to my liking, as always.

Web browsing on HSPA is decent, for what it's worth.

The Chat 3G is sold in Canada by Telus/Koodo. Telus sells those for $50, and it can be unlocked for an extra ~15 through a third party, very easy to do.

Bottom line, the Chat 3G is an entry-level affordable phone with social networking garbage capabilities, if that's your thing. I know it's not my thing, but the Chat 3G is still a decent phone nontheless.

_________________
SKELETONS RIDING OSTRICHES
Back to top Go down
Nakia the Rogue
Janitor
avatar


PostSubject: Re: iNQ Chat 3G review   Fri May 27, 2011 10:19 am

I almost understood that one. Either you are simplfing your explanation or I am learning a wee bit. Sounds like a good phone.

_________________
Blind faith is a liability: Skepticism a necessity.
Back to top Go down
http://www.forums-dragoncaptions.com/index.php
Carabas
Pole Dancer Impersonator
avatar


PostSubject: Re: iNQ Chat 3G review   Fri May 27, 2011 10:31 am

I think you're learning, it's still Greek to me.

_________________
"Growing old is inevitable but growing up is optional."
Back to top Go down
http://bellesakurasaloon.frenchboard.com
Nakia the Rogue
Janitor
avatar


PostSubject: Re: iNQ Chat 3G review   Fri May 27, 2011 3:42 pm

I have no idea what he talking about here.

Quote :
As for network support, the Chat is 3G HSPA/2G GSM. I believe HSPA is on 850/1900, and 850/900/1900 for GSM

We need a dictionary for this. F/N?.


_________________
Blind faith is a liability: Skepticism a necessity.
Back to top Go down
http://www.forums-dragoncaptions.com/index.php
Carabas
Pole Dancer Impersonator
avatar


PostSubject: Re: iNQ Chat 3G review   Fri May 27, 2011 4:03 pm

No clue either.

_________________
"Growing old is inevitable but growing up is optional."
Back to top Go down
http://bellesakurasaloon.frenchboard.com
Nakia the Rogue
Janitor
avatar


PostSubject: Re: iNQ Chat 3G review   Fri May 27, 2011 5:31 pm

Tony is really good for us, Cara. Reminds us that no matter how well read and classical educated we maybe that is a lot that we don't know. The older I get the less I know or at least it feels that way.

_________________
Blind faith is a liability: Skepticism a necessity.
Back to top Go down
http://www.forums-dragoncaptions.com/index.php
Carabas
Pole Dancer Impersonator
avatar


PostSubject: Re: iNQ Chat 3G review   Fri May 27, 2011 5:51 pm

To be honest all this doesn't really interest me, it's like football or cars, I could probably understand these subjects if I cared but the truth is I don't really care at all.

Nevertheless I always like to listen to someone who knows his/her trade, whether you want to or not you end up picking a few random things. Basically if we read enough reviews some of TON's technical expertise will eventually rub off.

_________________
"Growing old is inevitable but growing up is optional."
Back to top Go down
http://bellesakurasaloon.frenchboard.com
Nakia the Rogue
Janitor
avatar


PostSubject: Re: iNQ Chat 3G review   Fri May 27, 2011 6:05 pm

True. At least now I can go into a supplier and ask some fairly intelligent questions. Get them to explain things to me and not just take their word for what ever they are taling about.

_________________
Blind faith is a liability: Skepticism a necessity.
Back to top Go down
http://www.forums-dragoncaptions.com/index.php
BlackZarak
The Architect
avatar


PostSubject: Re: iNQ Chat 3G review   Sat May 28, 2011 4:35 am

Quote :
We need a dictionary for this. F/N?.

Hmm. Yeah, that would be a good idea.

850/900/1800/1900: In Megahertz, the frequency(ies) a phone uses to communicate with the network. North America uses 850 and 1900MHz, while Europe uses 900 and 1800MHz. Nowadays, this is not an issue, but some older or more basic phones might not work outside their country of origin.

GSM and HSPA are the core technology of the networks. GSM is the older second generation standard, while HSPA is the newer third generation. HSPA or 3G phones are 90% of the time compatible with the older network, and can fallback on it when needed.

On the user end, the result is the same, phone calls, text messages, multimedia messaging and all that, the only real difference is the core technology that powers the network.

The iNQ Chat, like I said, has SLOW firmware. Looking beyond that, the Chat does what it's supposed to do, and that's being a phone.

There will not be anymore iNQ phone reviews, though. They make social networking phones, and I'm not going to spend any money on such a phone.

As a matter of fact.... screw Windows Phone, and screw Android too. If I was to spend money on a phone, it would be a 3G HSPA BlackBerry.

_________________
SKELETONS RIDING OSTRICHES
Back to top Go down
Nakia the Rogue
Janitor
avatar


PostSubject: Re: iNQ Chat 3G review   Sat May 28, 2011 5:07 am

Thank you, TON. Why do we have different Megahertz? Why not have the same internationally?

_________________
Blind faith is a liability: Skepticism a necessity.
Back to top Go down
http://www.forums-dragoncaptions.com/index.php
BlackZarak
The Architect
avatar


PostSubject: Re: iNQ Chat 3G review   Sat May 28, 2011 5:28 am

I'm not sure, Nak. It would make sense to have internation standards, but going back as far as Analog, the first generation technology, Europe has always used 900MHz.

Still, the frequency difference is no longer an issue, as I said. GSM is an aging standard, and thus, the technology is more mature than HSPA, and with it's advancements, supporting one or more of the European/North American frequencies is common in GSM phones nowadays, and HSPA is slowly going there as well. My Nokia 2730 Classic (y'know, the blooper failed review) supports 3G HSPA only for North America, but supports 2G GSM on all 4 frequency bands used worldwide.

_________________
SKELETONS RIDING OSTRICHES
Back to top Go down
Carabas
Pole Dancer Impersonator
avatar


PostSubject: Re: iNQ Chat 3G review   Sat May 28, 2011 10:41 am

Nakia the Rogue wrote:
Why not have the same internationally?

It would be too easy, see how long it takes for people to accept the metric system.

_________________
"Growing old is inevitable but growing up is optional."
Back to top Go down
http://bellesakurasaloon.frenchboard.com
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: iNQ Chat 3G review   

Back to top Go down
 
iNQ Chat 3G review
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Belle Sakura Saloon :: Arcanum :: Where you can find help with the magic of modern technology.-
Jump to: